Diocese of South Dakota's Deputation to General Convention 2024

The 81st General Convention will take place June 23 – 28, 2024
in Louisville, Kentucky at the Kentucky International Convention Center.

Clergy Deputies

The Rt. Rev. Dr. Jonathan H. Folts
The Rev. Kim Fonder
The Rev. Kurt Huber
The Rev. Christina O'Hara
The Rev. Paul Sneve

Clergy Alternates

The Rev. Dr. Lauren R. Stanley
Deacon Twilla Two Bulls
The Rev. James Marrs Jr.
The Rev. Annie Henninger

Lay Deputies

Mr. Warren Hawk
Ms. Deanna Stands
Ms. Robin Bowen
Mr. Mitchell Honan

Lay Alternates

There were no alternates for Lay Deputies.

Upcoming opportunities during General Convention.

OGC logo

 House of Deputies Orientation on March 8th

If you cannot find the link sent directly to you, please call the Diocesan Office.

House of Deputies orientation for the 81st General Convention will take place on Friday, March 8th at 3 p.m. Eastern. The meeting will be recorded for later viewing.

This House of Deputies orientation will equip deputies and alternate deputies with the resources needed to engage the 81st General Convention.

Agenda Highlights:

President Ayala Harris will welcome everyone to the House of Deputies and set the context for our work together.

The General Convention Office will provide an overview of the 81st General Convention schedule to learn about the key events.

Presenters will give insights into the flow of resolutions and best practices for writing resolutions, ensuring you can contribute effectively to the legislative process.

The House of Deputies parliamentarian will explain the Rules of Order relating to resolutions and committee work.

The Chair of Dispatch will give an overview of dispatch and consent calendars so that deputies will understand the process and significance of the dispatch and consent calendars, both crucial elements of our legislative proceedings.

Here are some other Episcopal Church websites you might be looking for:

General Convention, Did you know?

  • The national legislative body of the Episcopal Church.

  • It consists of a House of Bishops, which includes all active and retired bishops, and a House of Deputies, which includes four lay persons and four clergy from each diocese, each area mission, and the Convocation of the American Churches in Europe.

  • The Convention meets every three years. The Houses meet and act separately, and both must concur to adopt legislation.

  • The General Convention alone has authority to amend the Prayer Book and the church's Constitution, to amend the canons (laws) of the church, and to determine the program and budget of the General Convention, including the missionary, educational, and social programs it authorizes.

  • A majority of bishops may request the Presiding Bishop to call a Special General Convention. Special General Conventions met in 1821 and in 1969.

  • The General Convention elects twenty of the forty members of the Executive Council, which administers policy and program between the triennial meetings of the General Convention.